ICC Announced Next ICC Twenty 20 World Cup 2020 Schedule and Hosting

ICC Announced Next ICC Twenty 20 World Cup 2020 Schedule and Hosting: Twenty20 World cup is like a treat for cricket lovers and the news of hosting the world cup Twenty20 in 2020 is being discussed everywhere. Australia will take the pleasure to do all the arrangements for this upcoming extravagance. The cold weather of Australia will be warmed by the excitement of Twenty20 World Cup; silence will turn into slogans of different nations supporting their country team. 16 nations will take part in the tournament and will turn Australia into a mini world. Teams will be selected through World Twenty20 Qualifier.

ICC Announced Next ICC Twenty 20 World Cup 2020 Schedule and Hosting:-

ICC Twenty 20 World Cup 2020 Schedule

The tournament will be host by Cricket Australia throughout eight cities of Australia and this will be for the first time when Australia will host the event. Matches will be held in following cities, Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sidney. Semifinal will be played at Adelaide Oval and Sydney Cricket Ground while Final will be played on 15 November 2020 in Melbourne.

Melbourne Cricket Ground will also host the Twenty20 world cup women’s final. Women’s tournament will start on 21 February and will last until 8 March 2020.

Chairman of Cricket Australia said “Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments 2020.  ICC World T20 2020 provides a unique opportunity to engage the whole community and inspire the next generation to love cricket.”

If we peep into the pages of history, six tournaments of twenty20 have been played so far since the inaugural of it in the year 2007 which was hosted by South Africa and won by India, defeating the Pakistan in Wanderers stadium of Johannesburg city. Next round was held in 2009 which was won by Pakistan in Lord’s stadium of England who always proves itself lucky for Pakistan.

Since T20 scheduled to be held after every two years third round of it was taking place in 2010 because it was needed to correct International Cricket Tournament Calendar as one tournament was missed due to security concerns in Pakistan and the matches was lately held in West Indies between 30 April and 16 May. England was the winner of the third world cup in the year of 2010 which was held only after 9 months of the last event.

In the year of 2012, it was Sri Lanka who hosted the fourth Twenty20 world cup; however, it gets defeated by West Indies. Whereas, World Cup Twenty20 of 2014 was hosted by Bangladesh whose winner was Sri Lanka and Sri Lanka was the only team who makes his presence possible in the finals for the third time. Currently, winner of the Twenty20 world cup in West Indies which was hosted in India, in the year of 2016.

I am also excited like all of you to see what is going to happen in 2018 World Cup on the grounds of South Africa, who will be the winner and which teams will fight in finals. So we will hold our breath until 15 March.

Still, there is time for the turn of Australia but we will wait what excitement will come out of the meadows of Australian grounds.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here